About City Council

The City of Allen operates under a council-manager form of government as approved by voters in 1979 through the adoption of the  Allen City Charter. The Home Rule Charter for the City of Allen provides that the Allen City Council shall consist of the mayor and six council members  elected by numbered places and are elected at-large by the registered voters of Allen to serve three-year, staggered terms of office.  Each member of the Allen City Council serves citywide. 

Debbie Stout

Term: Temporary appointment
Ph: 214.509.4120
Email Mayor Stout | Bio

Letters, Proclamations, Events

Submit request form for Mayoral 
letters and proclamations. 
Email City Secretary's Office for 
Mayor and Council event invitations.

Kurt Kizer

Councilmember, Place No. 1
Term: 2018-2021
Ph: 214.509.4121
Email Councilmember Kizer | Bio

Chris Schulmeister

Councilmember, Place No. 4
Term: 2019-2022
Ph: 214.509.4124
Email Councilmember Schulmeister | Bio

Carl Clemencich

Councilmember, Place No. 2
Term: 2017-2020
Ph: 214.509.4122
Email Councilmember Clemencich | Bio

Gary L. Caplinger

Mayor Pro Tem, Place No. 5
Term: 2018-2021
Ph. 214. 509.4125
Email Councilmember Caplinger | Bio

Lauren Doherty

Councilmember, Place No. 3
Term: 2018-2021
Ph: 214.509.4123
Email Councilmember Doherty | Bio

Baine Brooks

Councilmember, Place No. 6
Term: 2019-2022
Ph. 214.509.4126
Email Councilmember Brooks | Bio

Message Council

To message the Mayor
and Council, 
Email: Council@CityofAllen.org

Council Qualifications

According to the City of Allen Charter Article II, Section 2.02 and Chapter 141 of the Texas Election Code, a City Council candidate must: 
  • Be a United States citizen; 
  • Be a qualified voter of the City of Allen for at least six (6) months at the time of filing;
  • Be a resident of the City of Allen for at least one year immediately preceding their election;
  • Hold no other elected office or appointed public office or position of emolument, except as authorized by state law;
  • have not been determined by a final judgment of a court exercising probate jurisdiction to be:
    totally mentally incapacitated; or
    partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote; and
  • have not been finally convicted of a felony from which the person has not been pardoned or otherwise released from the resulting disabilities.
Excerpt from The Charter of the City of Allen, Texas, Article II. The City Council