Driving Safety

You may be able to require that a charge be dismissed by successfully completing a driving safety course or a motorcycle operator training course. You will lose that right if, on or before your appearance date, you do not provide the court with notice of your request to take the course.

To be eligible to take a driving safety course for ticket dismissal, you must:
  • Possess a valid Texas driver's license or permit.
  • Show proof of financial responsibility or vehicle liability insurance in your name or with you as a listed driver.
  • Enter a plea of "guilty" or "no contest."
  • Not have completed a driving safety course within one year preceding the date of the current citation.
  • Pay the court costs and applicable fees at the time of request.
  • Not have been cited for speeding at a speed of more than 24 mph over the posted speed limit 
  • Not have been cited for speeding at a speed of 95 mph or more
  • Not Posses a Commercial Driver’s License.
You may request permission to take the Driving Safety Course by mail. You must submit the following information to: Allen Municipal Court, 301 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013:
  • Copy of citation
  • Copy of proof of insurance
  • Copy of valid Texas driver's license
  • Include the state fee of $134 (or $159 if offense was in a school zone) Note: For offenses occurring on or after January 1, 2020 the fee is $144 (or $169 if in a school zone)
  • Plea of “guilty” or “no contest”
  • Waiver of a jury trial
  • Driving Safety Course Affidavit
Your request must be postmarked within 20 working days of the citation. If applying by mail, please wait until you have received written permission from the court before taking the course.

Upon approval, you will have 90 days to successfully complete and return your documents to the court. Please note, if your citation is past due, you will not be eligible for a Driving Safety Course.

If you fail to complete any of the requirements by your due date, your case will be set for a Show Cause Hearing and a letter will be mailed to the address on your citation. If you fail to appear at the Show Cause Hearing, judgment will be imposed. You will have 10 days from the hearing date to either pay or appeal the total judgment before a “capias pro” fine warrant is issued.

Those not eligible for taking a Driver Safety Course for dismissal of a citation:
  • Citations for defendants that hold or held a CDL license at the time of offense
  • Citations for an offense committed in a construction zone with workers present
  • Citations for over 24 mph the posted speed limit
  • Requests made or postmarked after 20 working days