About City Council

The City of Allen operates under a council-manager form of government as approved by voters in 1979 through the adoption of the  Allen City Charter. The Home Rule Charter for the City of Allen provides that the Allen City Council shall consist of the mayor and six council members  elected by numbered places and are elected at-large by the registered voters of Allen to serve three-year, staggered terms of office.  Each member of the Allen City Council serves citywide. 

Stephen Terrell

Mayor
Term: 2017-2020
Ph: 214.509.4120
sterrell@cityofallen.org | Bio
   

Kurt Kizer


Councilmember, Place No. 1
Term: 2015-2018
Ph: 214.509.4121
kkizer@cityofallen.org | Bio

Carl Clemencich


Councilmember, Place No. 2
Term: 2017-2020
Ph: 214.509.4122
cclemencich@cityofallen.org | Bio

Joey Herald


Councilmember, Place No. 3
Term: 2015-2018
Ph: 214.509.4123
jherald@cityofallen.org | Bio 

Robin L. Sedlacek


Councilmember, Place No. 4
Term: 2016-2019
Ph: 214.509.4124
rsedlacek@cityofallen.org | Bio

Gary L. Caplinger


Mayor Pro Tem, Place No. 5
Term: 2015-2018
Ph. 214. 509.4125
gcaplinger@cityofallen.org | Bio

Baine Brooks


Councilmember, Place No. 6
Term: 2016-2019
Ph. 214.509.4126
bbrooks@cityofallen.org | Bio

Council Qualifications


According to the City of Allen Charter Article II, Section 2.02, a City Council candidate must: 

  • Be a qualified voter of the City of Allen for at least six (6) months at the time of filing;
  • Be a resident of the City of Allen for at least one year immediately preceding their election; and,
  • Hold no other elected office or appointed public office or position of emolument, except as authorized by state law.
Excerpt from The Charter of the City of Allen, Texas, Article II. The City Council